top of page

Reize Energy Drink Review

When spinZ gave me this product to try and review, I really didn’t know what to think. However, being polite, I said sure. My original thought was spinZ got me to try Reize because he already did and wasn’t a fan. So, he needed somebody else to be more diplomatic in the review. The first reason for my hesitation was the packaging, which really looks like a pack of condoms. The erect tower with clouds on either side of its base where the I in REIZE is really enforces the phalanx imagery. The individual satchels inside not only subliminally enforce that imagery, but also blatantly promote it, as the packaging looks like a preparalytic. So, there were mixed messages about the product before I even drank it. I was already asking myself, am I drinking an energy drink? Was it a sexual performance aid? Or is it a pack of condoms? My Second hesitation was it was Sugar Free. Now most Sugar Free energy drinks I have tried just taste disgusting, and because of my bad experiences, it puts me off trying any new sugar free products. However, I put my personal biases aside and took the plunge; besides, how awesome is it to get free products to try? So, I went to my girlfriend’s place and convinced her to try it with me just in case it was a vitality drink, lol.

Despite everything, the whole satchel powder concept had me scratching my head; my experiences with powdered products like Kool-Aid, PowerAde and Tang were bad and left me struggling with the idea of how it could be improved. My Main problem with the concept is the consistency, yes, you can make it how you like and serve it whatever way imaginable, but, you can never make the same drink twice. So, for me, the concept was gimmicky, although for some it may be portable and handy; for example, at a construction site, it would be easy to keep in a tool box or at a gym or a sports field, I could see its practicality. I also understood if you’re an environmentally concise person how this product may appeal to you. The packaging is better for the environment than regular cans and it leaves less of a carbon footprint. But, for this lazy pc-gamer where energy drinks are a part of my stable diet, I didn’t understand what social needs of mine were being met by buying and using satchels instead of cans. There was no cool art gimmick, I couldn’t use my USB powered can cooler, there were no sexy chicks and I didn’t grow wings. I then realized the guys at Reize were taking a massive risk trying to reach a new consumer market; the organic foodie/café latté hipster crowd, unfortunately, are not widely recognised for their energy drink consumption. I could then see why they were using the tactic of satchels vs cans, and here, I was not even aware drinking from a can was an issue. I then decided to go online and watch some of Reize’s hilarious videos on their website www.reize.com.au. I decided I was going to do this test three ways. 1. The usual bottle of water, just add one satchel of Reize to a bottle of water, as this is how I would drink it. 2. A long island ice tea cocktail, as the guys at Reize informed us that Reize and Ice Tea cocktails were a big hit. 3. A warm tea, as one of Reize’s audio ads they use on WSHH suggests you can enjoy it hot or cold and I thought that was unusual.

1st Try, Bottle Water My first try, I put just 1 sachet of Reize in a bottle of 600ML of water, and I must say it wasn’t as terrible as I thought it was going to be, in fact, it wasn’t bad at all. It has a lemony zing to it and a bit of a candy taste. Despite it being sugar free, it’s actually sweet. 2nd try, Cocktails Reize informed us that a lot of people like Reize as a cocktail mixed with Ice Tea and Vodka, so what the hell. We made a simple version of a Long Island Ice Tea using Lemon Ice tea, Reize and Vodka. The Reize people were right, it was really yummy, so yummy we had two. Just a friendly reminder, if you’re going to drink, don’t drink and drive, and please, don’t binge drink, consume in moderation. 3rd Try - We tried it again as a cup of tea, I made a cup of earl grey tea and decided to add a satchel of Reize to it and it was surprisingly good, actually this was properly my favourite way of making Reize. Now, in saying this, we must warn our readers that by this stage, we were properly well past the recommended daily health warning for energy drink consumption, so we gave it a rest after this.

What did I learn? That Reize isn’t as bad as you first think and it grows on you, I like the fact that it’s an Australian company, and more, importantly a Sydney based company concerned about its impact on the environment. I can finally rejoice that I have found a Sugar Free product that tastes good and is a healthier option for me. After going on their website, the price isn’t bad either, for as low as $9 a month, you get 12 drinks delivered to your door and the shipping is free. If you don’t want to do monthly deliveries, you can purchase Reize as a one-off order. 12 drinks cost $18, which works out to be $1.50 per drink, so it’s cheaper to get monthly shipments. Generally, the experience wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. Be bold, support local industry, support local products and give Reize a try, just as we did.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page